Business Spotlight

For Love of Money by Marilyn Tam

Posted by AC Team - on Monday, 06 February 2012

For Love of Money by Marilyn Tam
Have you heard this before? “Love or Business, you have to choose.” The message is direct - you have to decide what you value more, something/one you love or your work/business. Actually, there is a more factual statement – Love is Good Business. February is the month of love. A great deal of thought and energy will be spent on expressions of love, usually for a romantic partner. The truth in the old axiom, Love makes the World Go Round, applies to all aspects of life, not only to...

AALDEF Honors Dale Minami, Nicholas D. Kristof, Sheryl Wudunn and Sandra Leung with 2009 Justice in Action Awards

Posted by Lia Chang on Friday, 20 March 2009.

AALDEF Honors Dale Minami, Nicholas D. Kristof, Sheryl Wudunn and Sandra Leung with 2009 Justice in Action Awards March 26.

The Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund (AALDEF) 35th Anniversary Celebration will be held at PIER SIXTY, Chelsea Piers, in New York City on Thursday, March 26, 2009.

Four special individuals will be presented with 2009 JUSTICE IN ACTION Awards:

New York Times columnist Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, Pulitzer Prize-winning co-authors and human rights activists; Sandra Leung, Senior Vice President and General Counsel for Bristol-Myers Squibb Company; and Dale Minami, civil rights attorney and co-founder of AALDEF.

ABC News Correspondent Juju Chang and Columbia Journalism Professor Sree Sreenivasan will emcee.

Tony Award winners David Henry Hwang and BD Wong will be special guests.

The Gala begins with a 6 p.m. cocktail reception followed by the JUSTICE IN ACTION Awards ceremony, a three-course dinner, and a silent auction.

Tables of ten, available at $35,000, $20,000, $15,000, and $10,000, include a VIP reception. Individual tickets start at $500.

RSVP Contact: Lillian Ling, 212.966.5932 x 202 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The AALDEF JUSTICE IN ACTION Awards recognize exceptional individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions in advancing justice and equality. Past recipients include the late civil rights icon Fred Korematsu, David Henry Hwang, Yoko Ono, Mira Nair, Maya Lin, Harold Koh, Charles Ogletree, Jr., Salman Rushdie, Seymour Hersh, and Deval Patrick.

Proceeds from the 35th Anniversary Celebration benefit AALDEF's legal and educational programs in immigrant rights, economic justice for workers, voting rights and civic participation, affirmative action, language access to services, youth rights and educational equality, and the elimination of hate violence, police misconduct and human trafficking.