AAPI Stars of Hollywood, Sports, and Business! Asia Society Southern California Gala 2023

Posted by AC Team - on Sunday, 21 May 2023

AAPI Stars of Hollywood, Sports, and Business! Asia Society Southern California Gala 2023
May 21, 2023 Written by AC Team View our highlight reel at the end of this article! The Asia Society of Southern California's gala in Los Angeles was a spectacular showcase of veteran and new generations of Asian American stars in Hollywood, Sports, and Business.  Actress, Writer, Producer Awkwafina was honored in the "Cultural Visionary" category. Awkwafina can be seen in her Comedy Central Show Awkwafina Is Nora From Queens which she created and stars in, Disney's...

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Invites more Diverse Members to Join

Posted by Suzanne Kai on Monday, 25 June 2018.

June 25, 2018

Los Angeles


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended invitations to 928 people, a record high number of invitations, more than last year's record of 774 new members.


The Academy's president in 2016 Cheryl Boone Isaacs made it clear that she would push for a more diverse membership after the #OscarsSoWhite controversy, and bringing three Asian children on stage posing as accountants without any speaking roles to be used as the butt of an insulting, stereotypical joke by host Chris Rock.


In 2016, Ed Diokno, AsAm contributing writer put the initial efforts into context: his full article is on this link and below)

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences invited 683 artists to become members of the organization which sponsors the Oscars. Forty-one percent of the invitees, or 272, are people of color. Seventy of those are Asian or Asian American.The move to diversify the Academy’s membership was not unexpected after the firestorm that overlooked actors of color for any acting nominations for two straight years.”


…“But really – the needle towards inclusiveness and diversity has barely moved. Prior to the invitations being sent out, only 8 percent of the Academy membership were minorities. Even if all the minority invitees accepted, there would only be 11 percent minority membership. Hardly enough to make a significant change in the Academy’s voting patterns. In order to meet the stated diversity goals, the Academy will have to add 500 non-white members and 1,500 female members in the next five years.”


The full 2018 list is at


Here are some of the people invited in 2018 to become members of the Academy:



Doona Bae – “Cloud Atlas,” “The Host”

Sylvia Chang – “Love Education,” “20:30:40”

Hong Chau – “Downsizing,” “Inherent Vice”

Ha Jung-woo – “The Handmaiden,” “The Yellow Sea”

Chin Han – “Contagion,” “The Dark Knight”

Ken Jeong – “Crazy Rich Asians,” “The Hangover”

Jo Jin-woong – “The Handmaiden,” “Assassination”

Takeshi Kaneshiro – “Red Cliff,” “House of Flying Daggers”

Anil Kapoor – “Slumdog Millionaire,” “Taal”

Shah Rukh Khan – “Chennai Express,” “Devdas”

Kim Min-hee – “On the Beach at Night Alone,” “TheHandmaiden”

Andy Lau – “House of Flying Daggers,” “Infernal Affairs”

Olivia Munn – “X-Men: Apocalypse,” “Magic Mike”

Kumail Nanjiani* – “The Big Sick,” “Hello, My Name Is Doris”

Kal Penn – “The Namesake,” “Harold & Kumar Go to WhiteCastle”

Naseeruddin Shah – “The League of Extraordinary Gentleman,” “Monsoon Wedding”

Tabu – “Life of Pi,” “The Namesake”

Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa – “Kubo and the Two Strings,” “The Last Emperor”

Saïd Taghmaoui – “Wonder Woman,” “Three Kings”

Benedict Wong – “Doctor Strange,” “The Martian”


Anil Mehta – “Secret Superstar,” “Rockstar”

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom – “Call Me by Your Name,” “Antonia.”

Quyen Tran – “The Little Hours,” “The Automatic Hate”


Costume Designers

Jo Sang-gyeong – “The Handmaiden,” “Oldboy”

Lee Pik-kwan – “Journey to the West: Conquering the Demons,”“Infernal Affairs”



Jimmy Chow – “Tron: Legacy,” “Snow Falling on Cedars”

James R. Lin – “Captain America: Winter Soldier,” “Lady in the Water”

Keiko Mitsumatsu – “Our Little Sister,” “Nobody Knows”

Ryu Seong-hie – “The Handmaiden,” “The Front Line”

Wang Kuo – “The Great Wall,” “A Woman, a Gun and a NoodleShop”


Hong Sang-soo* – “The Day After,” “On the Beach at Night Alone”

Leon Ichaso – “Piñero,” “Bitter Sugar”

Wanuri Kahiu – “Rafiki,” “From a Whisper”

Lee Chang-dong – “Poetry,” “Burning”

Lou Ye – “Blind Massage,” “Love and Bruises”

Chloé Zhao* – “The Rider,” “Songs My Brother Taught Me”



Claire Aguilar – “The Interrupters,” “Last Train Home”

Jian Fan – “Still Tomorrow,” “Wu Tu, My Land”

Stephen Maing – “Crime + Punishment,” “High Tech, Low Life”

Orinne J.T. Takagi – “Through a Lens Darkly: BlackPhotographers and the Emergence of a People,” “4 Little Girls”

Tan Pin Pin – “To Singapore, with Love,” “Singapore GaGa”

Nanfu Wang – “I Am Another You,” “Hooligan Sparrow”

Lana Wilson – “The Departure,” “After Tiller”

Chi-hui Yang


Walter Hamada

Andy Kim

Ann Le Cam

Troy Andrew Lum

Lisa Nishimura

Wang Zhongjun

Wang Zhonglei

Yu Dong

Film Editors

Cheung Ka-Fai – “Rise of the Legend,” “All’s Well, Ends Well”

Makeup Artists & Hairstylists

Chau Siu-Mui – “Curse of the Golden Flower,” “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon”

Kwan Lee-Na – “House of Flying Daggers,” “Hero”

Noriko Watanabe – “Silence,” “Memoirs of a Geisha”



Yoko Kanno – “Our Little Sister,” “Macross Plus”

Joseph Koo – “A Better Tomorrow,” “Fists of Fury”

Lee Byung-woo – “Mother,” “The Host”

Lim Giong – “The Assassin,” “Millennium Mambo”

Nathan Wang – “No Man’s Land,” “Rumble in the Bronx”



Oh Jung-wan – “Woman on the Beach,” “A Tale of Two Sisters”

Jacky Pang Yee Wah – “The Grandmaster,” “2046”

Nira Park – “Baby Driver,” “Shaun of the Dead

Derrick Tseng – “Joe,” “Life during Wartime”

Public Relations

Emmy Chang

Cathy Nam

Warren Nung


Short Films and Feature Animation

Teresa Cheng – “Shrek Forever After,” “Madagascar”

Yasser Hamed – “Moana,” “Big Hero 6”

Atsuko Hirayanagi – “Oh Lucy!,” “Mo Ikkai”

Mamoru Hosoda – “The Boy and the Beast,” “The Girl Who Leapt through Time”

Sunao Katabuchi – “In This Corner of the World,” “Mai Mai Miracle”

Ru Kuwahata – “Negative Space,” “Something Left, SomethingTaken”

Lei Lei – “Hand-Colored No. 2,” “Recycled”

Li Jie – “Coal Story,” “Three Pieces of Sincere Advice”

Liu Jian – “Have a Nice Day,” “Look at This Man”

Vincent Di Nguyen – “The Peanuts Movie,” “Surviving Sid”

Ngozi Onwurah – “Hang Time,” “The Body Beautiful”

Mauricio Osaki – “My Father’s Truck,” “The Dust of YourPhotos”

Yuriko Senoo – “The Star,” “The Pirate Fairy”

Makoto Shinkai – “Your Name,” “Children Who Chase Lost Voices

Larry Y. Wu – “Moana,” “Big Hero 6”

Paul Young – “Song of the Sea,” “The Secret of Kells”

Jennifer Yu – “Moana,” “Wreck-It Ralph”


Debajit Changmai – “Court,” “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag”

Bishwadeep Chatterjee – “Madras Café,” “3 Idiots”

Joel Iwataki – “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story,” “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”

Kim Suk-won – “The Handmaiden,” “The Front Line”

Nico Louw – “Tomb Raider,” “Safe House”

Unsun Song – “Dunkirk,” “The Great Wall”

Yang Jiang – “Soul on a String,” “The Great Hypnotist”

Zhao Nan – “Battle of Memories,” “Mojin: The Last Legend”

Visual Effect

Charlie Iturriaga – “Chappie,” “Gone Girl”

Hanzhi Tang – “Thor: Ragnarok,” “Independence Day: Resurgence”



Hong Sang-soo* – “The Day After,” “On the Beach at Night Alone”

Jeong Seo-kyeong – “The Handmaiden,” “Thirst”

Kumail Nanjiani* – “The Big Sick”

Sion Sono – “Tokyo Vampire Hotel,” “The Whispering Star”

Wang Hui Ling – “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon,” “Fleeing by Night”

Yan Geling – “Youth,” “Coming Home”

Chloé Zhao* – “The Rider,” “Songs My Brother Taught Me”




Jeffrey Chan

Andy Cheng

Stephen Nakamura



July 1, 2016


Featured Media

In the News

judith leiber